Grounded

I want to lay naked in the Earth. 
Feel the earthworms explore the nature of my skin,
kisses of wet grains and minerals,
cold and soft soil warming my colder bones,
listening to the sombre songs of the birds
longing for the innate need of belonging.

I want to stay in this barrow of mine,
in my comfortable abyss,
watching the leaves change colour and perish
giving way to a dead and white winter
when the birds fall in a silent torpor and all I can hear
is my beating heart.
Still living.

Let the roots and worms consume me from the inside
reborn in the very soil that birthed me the first time.
My internal wounds will transform into
mushrooms and flowers
ready to be devoured
and guide me on the journey I need.
Liberate me
These broken bones and twigs left behind.

I will climb out of this grave
Alive, still breathing the same air
that suffocated me before.
Now with every inhale
I will see what the birds were singing for
and find myself craving more of the same
with newer lungs within the same soiled skin.

~2020

Leave a comment